2019 Awards

2019 Awards

2019 Awards 

Congratulations to our 2019 award recipients.

The ADF Long Tan Awards Youth Leadership and Teamwork Awards recognises a Year 10 and 12 student who demonstrate leadership and teamwork within both the school and the broader community and who display strong values, such as doing one’s best, respect for others and “mateship”, that are integral to Australian society. The establishment of the ADF Long Tan Youth Leadership and Teamwork Awards is an initiative of the Australian Government designed to encourage senior students, tomorrow’s leaders, to actively participate in the life of their school and local community. The Year 10 Long Tan Award and cheque for $250 was awarded to Krisha Chokshi. The Year 12 Long Tan Award and cheque for $550 was awarded to Eunyoung Kim.

The Caltex Best All Rounder Award is presented to a final-year student, acknowledging their all-round contributions to their school and community. Recipients excel in six key categories Academic, Attitude, Personal, Leadership, Service and Sport. The recipient of the Caltex Best All Rounder Award was Jasmine Son.

The Domina Nostra Award, from the Latin translation of “Our Lady”, has been awarded since 2007 to the student from Years 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 who most demonstrates the OLSH Spirit in their daily actions and interactions. The students encourage the community to reflect on the Sacred Heart goals of the school and more, broadly speaking, Christian values are relevant and applicable to our daily lives.
The 2019 Domina Nostra Award recipients are: Domina Nostra Year 7 - Deana Borrelli, Domina Nostra Year 8 - Trisha Patel, Domina Nostra Year 9 - Deeya Sehra, Domina Nostra Year 10 - Armaan Khalon, Domina Nostra Year 11- Nirzana Yoheshwaran.

The Mary MacKillop Award for Excellence was awarded to Ruth Hall and Emily Siva-Pereira. This awards celebrates the gifts of young people in our Church and schools. Ruth and Emily demonstrated a commitment to their Catholic faith, personal characteristics of merit, success in their chosen learning pathway, contribution to their fellow students and school, contribution to the wider community and a sense of optimism and hope for the future. Ruth and Emily have been described as compassionate, articulate, sensitive and respectful to the needs of others. They have demonstrated a positive attitude to life, shown leadership, personal integrity, a capacity to inspire others and are young people of dignity, grace, faith and love.

The Peer Tutor of the Year Award was presented to Lucinda Georgonicas. This award is given in recognition of the service a student has given to others. Lucinda demonstrated a genuine commitment to helping students in Years 7, 8, 9 and 10 improve their numeracy and literacy skills.  She was a wonderful mentor who showed boundless energy, generosity, dedication, support and care by giving up their lunchtime over the past two years.

Susan Newton from Soroptimist International presented the Peggi Williams Award. Soroptimists work on many levels of civil society, local, national and international in projects that advance human rights and the status of women. They work together in a spirit of friendship and fun to make the world a better place for all. Peggi Williams was a member of the SI Torrens Group. She was a woman who believed in working with the community to raise the status of young people and to advance human rights for all. Peggi Williams died tragically in a road accident in 1998. Her compassion and tireless efforts towards social justice are acknowledged through this award. This award is presented to a student who has worked at developing her leadership skills. 

She has a shared vision for justice in the world by being a positive role model at school, being an ambassador in the local community and assisting in global projects. She has supported different organisations and raised awareness of these through fundraising initiatives. She has always conducted herself with grace and has never hesitated to assist in any capacity possible. She has developed into an informed citizen who will continue to make a difference in the world in which we live. The recipient of the Peggi Williams Award was Somayeh Ahmadi.

The Principal’s Choice Art Award was awarded to student of the Visual Arts, Gemma Tran. Each year the Year 12 students of Art, Design and Creative Arts hold an exhibition of their final works as part of the Visual Arts Showcase. At this exhibition our Principal Ms Urbano selects a work that the school purchases as part of their permanent collection.

Pro Regno Christi is the College motto, meaning “May Christ Reign”. This award is very important as it is given to the student who lives this College motto. This student has shown active involvement at the College, striving for social justice, participating in the wider community, being a role model for others and, ultimately, living out Jesus’ message. The recipient of this award was Olivia Hayes. Olivia's personable qualities and her positive outlook make her a truly deserving recipient of this award.

The OLSH Spirit of Community Award was awarded to Magarette Bates. Magarette participated in all OLSH events and showed great initiative to contributing beyond what is expected. Magarette offered service to others in the OLSH and wider community and took an active role in Senior Campus events and initiatives. Magarette consistently demonstrated a positive attitude towards all, staff and students, her academic studies and the OLSH Spirit as well as being a positive role model to younger students.

The Vocational Education and Training (VET) Student of the Year Award recognises outstanding achievement by a student in a course of study leading to a nationally recognised qualification. Georgia Deane received this award in recognition for her studies in Certificate III Individual Support Ageing/Disability.